this is the first day of my life

January 30, 2009 at 12:35 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

Well, it’s not really the first day of my life but I like using song lyrics as titles for my posts and it IS the first day of my blog. 🙂

Woke up and didn’t have to be anywhere today so I lazed around in pjs and drank iced coffee. Sadly, almost the end of my favorite Trader Joe’s Gingerbread Coffee which I will have to wait for another holiday season to buy again. Yummy stuff. I actually haven’t made coffee in a few weeks, it tasted good.

iced-coffee1

So I was sitting around, doing homework and putzing around online and drinking coffee, two big glasses. And then I realized that I was kind of jumpy and that it was already noon and I’d had way too much caffeine for having had no food! So I put together a nice lunch.

Egg salad that I made yesterday on a whole wheat hamburger bun with watercress…

egg-salad-watercress-sandwichAnd the last bowl from a pot of spinach soup that I made earlier this week (this soup will probably show up a lot – it’s easy, works well with whatever veggies I happen to have on hand, and I love it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner)…

spinach-soupAnd a big glass of my favorite peppermint iced tea that I make from leaf tea. I only drink iced tea in this crazy big plastic tumbler that I got at the dollar store and I think was actually being sold as a vase! I love iced tea but I hate the way it stains glasses, so I always drink it out of this cheap plastic cup instead so I’m not always scrubbing/bleaching tea stains out of my normal glasses.

iced-tea

It’s a pretty cheery tumbler!

Around 4.30 I had some dinner. I have kind of a wonky schedule as I work 5 nights a week waitressing – I usually leave for work between 5.00 and 5.30 pm, so I eat kind of an early dinner before I go. But I don’t like to have a big dinner because then I have to put on my uniform and rush around all night! So I generally have something before I go, and then something smallish when I get home which can be anytime between 10.30 to midnight. I don’t like eating so late (and sometimes I don’t), but if I don’t it is a really long time before breakfast.

So, before I went in tonight I made a baked potato in the microwave and topped it with some homemade turkey chili that I had in the freezer. I put a nice big blob of Trader Joe’s Greek yogurt on top, which I always use in place of sour cream. I’ve just recently sort of rediscovered baked potatoes, and they’re a really nice fast meal that fills me up.

baked-potato-and-turkey-chili

Got home from work at 11.00 and had a bowl of cream of broccoli soup that I made this afternoon. This is a very easy recipe that my mother made when I was growing up – it uses canned cream of chicken soup so it’s not exactly super “clean” eating, but it’s good once in a while.

broccoli-soup1

Followed this with a cup of Ginger Snappish tea with a splash of fat-free half & half and a Viactiv for dessert.

ginger-snappish-tea-viactiv

Thanks for reading! I’m looking forward to posting again tomorrow!

1 Comment

  1. fitforfree said,

    hey, thanks for adding me to your blogroll 🙂 That chili/baked potato combo looks awesome—I think I’m going to make that for dinner tonight! (just posted about chili on my blog!)

    hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

