and I know that I'll feel a whole lot better when you're gone…

February 5, 2009 at 1:15 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

Post title tonight is a great Tom Petty song but I’m singing it to my little nuisance of a cold while I think he was singing it to a girl. 😛

My cold isn’t bad at all, mostly a scratchy throat with a few sniffles and a lot of feeling-like-I’m-in-a-fog. I haven’t actually been sick in almost two years, so if this is as bad as it gets, you’ll hear no complaints from me.

Well, other than the fact that I was feeling too wiped out today to do the cooking I intended to do…was going to make some more soup, breakfast burritos to have in the freezer, and bread. I’ll get them all done, sometime by the end of the weekend. Figured it was better to take it easy and try to knock this cold out.

Went to class this morning and then my weekly meeting with my advisor on a research project at school. Didn’t have breakfast, so when I got home about noon I had a bowl of that same corn-potato-green chile soup…

corn-potato-soup2

Good thing I liked this, as it made a pretty big pot and has lasted a long time!

Threw together a little turkey wrap to go with it, using Flat-Out Multi Grain wraps. I melted some lite cheese on the wrap in the microwave and then topped it with turkey, bacon bits, a little mayo, and romaine…

turkey-wrap-2-4-09

…and then rolled it up!

turkey-wrap2-2-4-09

It was okay. I don’t think anything tastes amazing right now because of my cold. Plus I really need to get tomatoes for all these sandwiches I’ve been having without them.

Took a nap after that while watching What Not To Wear. When I woke up I decided to make this “quiche” recipe that I found on Hungry Girl. I had a big bag of imitation crab in my freezer – what  I like to call Krab – and wanted to use it up. I used to love Krab when I was younger but lately it tastes really odd to me. So I googled the other day for some kind of halfway healthy recipe using it in a casserole (so the taste would be diluted among others) and found one that looked easy. I actually followed it pretty closely and, weirdly, it looked like it needed a lot more egg white than the recipe called for, so I added another carton.

It came out a lot more like a frittata than a quiche, but pretty decent overall. Here’s what it looked like right out of the oven:

krab-frittata-2-4-09

Didn’t have any then, though, because it baked right up until the time I had to leave for work. So I made a different little pre-work dinner. I bought these mini pita breads the other day at the store, thinking they would be nice for a smaller sandwich. Weirdly, though, they’re too small to put much into. So I used two with a Boca burger cut in half, some mustard, romaine.

boca-mini-pitas-2-4-09

Pretty dull, but I used up one more of those boring portabello Boca burgers and got enough nutrition to make it through work.

After work I had a piece of that frittata. I decided after cutting it that it looked like it needed a little tomato-pasta sauce on it, so I added some jarred stuff. But here it is before so you can see all the pretty vegetables…

krab-frittata2-2-4-09

It has spinach, grape tomatoes, red and yellow bell peppers, green onions, egg white, Krab, and some lite cheese.  Here it is with the tomato sauce on it:

krab-frittata4-2-4-09

Pretty good. A little eggy/spongy but it’ll be good for any meal period.

After that I wanted something sweet, so I opened one of those mini pitas and spread it with Trader Joe’s Reduced Sugar Blueberry Jam and ate it with a cup of tea.

pita-snack-tea-2-4-09

And now I need to go to bed and try to nip this cold in the bud. Night!

1 Comment

  1. Maggie said,

    hey! thanks for commenting on my blog so I could find yours 🙂 i like your “about” section – we have similar backgrounds, but it’s definitely always a struggle. have a good night!

Leave a Reply

