you say goodbye and I say hello

February 11, 2009 at 12:48 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I’m back! I was sick and then I was busy but now I’m back. 🙂

One thing that helped my cold immensely was making tea similar to that my friend/cook at work made for me – I combined these ingredients in the morning and I swear it helped my throat and sinuses:

tea-for-a-cold

That’s tea (ginger & honey flavor but I don’t think the flavor would matter much), honey, cayenne pepper, and a Trader Joe’s version of Emergen-C. Such a weird combination, right? But it worked very well.

Okay, so I’m feeling much better now. I didn’t track/photograph foods for a few days, though. Went out to eat at Claim Jumpers on Sunday night with my friend J. It was the first time I’d been there and, yep, the portion sizes were pretty huge as I had heard. It was okay. I don’t really love chain restaurants.

SO ANYWAY, foods for today. I had my parents coming over today to help me with some home stuff (they recently helped me completely renovate my house and there are still some finishing touches to be done) so I woke up early and went out to buy a full-length mirror…

(because I bought one the other day at Target and then brought it into the house on Sunday night and DROPPED IT on the front porch and it shattered EVERYWHERE haha…please don’t tell me about seven years bad luck)

…at Walmart and found a completely cute pair of wide-leg black corduroy trousers for $13 at the same time. Came home and cleaned a little because my mom is an amazing housekeeper and I always want my generally clean house to look even more clean for her. I had some lunch around 11.30, one of the last pieces of that Krab frittata with a very simple greens and grape tomato salad on the side, drizzled with bottled Paul Newman balsamic vinaigrette:

frittata-with-salad

I still wanted something carby-munchy-sweet after that so I had a double fiber English muffin with PB2 and some apricot jam. I’ve seen PB2 mentioned on a few food blogs, but not too many so I’ll show what it is in case people don’t know.

pb2

Here’s the nutritional info:

pb2-nutrition

And here it is all mixed up with jam:

english-muffin-pb2-and-jam

And a little closer in case you want to see more of the consistency of the PB2

english-muffin-pb2-and-jam2

I like PB2 for some instances. The sugar content squicks me out a little, because I usually buy natural peanut butter with no added ingredients, but it’s very low fat and low calorie compared to regular peanut butter. I use it for times when I just want a little pb taste, but I haven’t used it to replace regular peanut butter.  I don’t know, I guess I’m a little conflicted about how I feel about PB2.

Later, after my parents came, I made some soup. I kind of just threw it together with some things that needed using up – ham, pearl onions, mirepoix, chard, and black-eyed peas. It turned out well. I had a bowl of it for dinner.

ham-blackeyed-soup

I also tried a new bread machine recipe today – I bought a bread machine a few weeks ago and have been experimenting with it. Today I tried a recipe for a Dark Rye bread…it turned out nicely!

dark-rye-loaf-top

It looked decent when it came out but it looked even better when I cut into it…holy yum

dark-rye-slice

That little tear at the lower right? Oh yeah, that’s where I started tearing off part of the slice because it smelled so damn good. 🙂 It tasted good, too, nice and moist.

I went to running class and then had another slice of that lovely bread, and then to bed.

Night, all!

Leave a Reply

