what a long strange trip it's been

February 23, 2009 at 3:00 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

This weekend was really long and strange…and actually very fun, for the most part. It’s funny how in life the boys I want never want me, and the boys who do want me are never the ones I want. But there’s definitely something to be said for good friends. šŸ™‚

I ate random foods this weekend and spent too many nights drinking blueberry vodka at the bar with friends, lol. And didn’t take any photos.

Saturday I was tired and lazy and ate frozen breaded eggplant (well, I heated it up) from Trader Joe’s with pasta sauce and melted cheese. It was good, I’ve had it in my freezer for a while and will definitely buy it again. When I got home from the bar, super late (like 2.30 am) I had the last of those not-so-great portabello flavor Boca burgers with a slice of cheese on top.

Sunday I ate a little tabouli and then went out to Red Lobster with a friend for an early dinner. I’ve never eaten there before…well, at least not since I was like 10 years old and used to go there when I’d visit my grandparents in Michigan. It was pretty good, I have to say. I had parmesan-crusted tilapia with mashed potatoes, and we split a lobster-spinach-cheese dip thing with tortilla chips. And then we all went out again last night because it was a friend’s last night working with us.

So I was out late again, and then had class at 9.00 this morning. Pretty much rolled out of bed at the last possible minute, gulped down a bunch of water and went to class. On my way home, I thought about stopping at this great little drive-thru Mexican place near my house for a burrito, but then I decided to come home and make my own – save money, healthier, etc.

I used a whole grain Flat-Out as the wrap and added some refried beans, a little lowfat cheese, salsa, Greek yogurt, sprouts, and sauteed crimini mushrooms. Mushrooms? I know, mushrooms and sprouts aren’t very Mexican-food but I love mushrooms and they needed to be used before they rotted in the vegetable drawer. It came out pretty good.

burrito2-2-23-09

burrito3-2-23-09

And then I took a nap. šŸ™‚

Woke up and was craving a grilled cheese sandwich but for some reason it seemed like too much trouble to actually cook one, so I made a turkey sandwich and melted the cheese a little in the microwave. Turkey, cheese, mayo, dijon, sprouts, pickles on a whole wheat bun.

turkey-sandwich-2-23-09

I’m posting this early today because I’m about to take my computer over to this techie place so they can install a whole bunch of new memory I just bought – yay! But they’re keeping it overnight so hopefully I’ll be back tomorrow with a much faster computer.

See you then!

Leave a Reply

