i want to be the girl with the most cake

March 7, 2009 at 12:48 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Just a little Courtney Love lyric that a friend of mine referenced on facebook today, but it reminded me of a) how much I really love that song and b) that I meant to elaborate more yesterday on my disappointment in the carrot cake Clif bar I had.

Don’t get me wrong, Clif bars, and many other bars, are really awesome. They taste great, travel well, and are a wonderful source of portable nutrition. But they just don’t really work for me, other than as a treat or dessert. They don’t make me feel full or satisfied, and they do leave me feel that I wish I’d had a lot more of a “whole” and filling meal for the calories. So I’m going to avoid them, unless I’m using them as an on-the-go meal replacement or occasional treat. I know they work well for others, but they just don’t…for me.

Okay, enough about that. 🙂

Actually managed to sleep in a little this morning, although I wish I could sleep through the morning instead of waking every half hour after 3.00 am. Sigh. This is just who I am, it appears.

Woke up and decided to have a fried egg sandwich. It’s been a very whole-egg week, I guess, which doesn’t actually bother me. Egg yolks don’t freak me out – they’re full of good fats and nutrients in moderation – and normally I make egg white omelets just because I like them. So I splurged and made a fried egg sandwich on a whole wheat hamburger bun with some mayo, a slice of cheese, and spinach for crunch.

Holy yum.

fried-egg-sandwich-3-6-09

Broke the yolks deliberately this time, because as much as I love runny yolks on ham hash, I don’t love them running down my chin when I’m eating a sammich. 🙂

Went to an appointment, stopped by my parents’ house and played for a bit with their crazy kitten…oh, want to see him? He’s flippin’ adorable! They found him in their woodpile a few months ago and he looked like this then:

woodpile-kitten3

And then after they got him to come inside and live with them:

woodpile-kitten-in-office

He’s a lot bigger now but still so damn cute. My mom takes him outside on a leash, wearing this harness thing, because he’s still so little and there are a lot of coyotes and hawks in their neighborhood.

max-outside-leash

He’s learning from watching my parents’ other cat, who found them a little over a year ago, and who looks remarkably like this kitten, but was “fixed” when they found her, so can’t be his mama. She’s a beauty, and super smart.

libby-outside

Okay, sorry, enough about cats! (Although it’s never enough about them for me – I love cats, especially those in my family).

Came home and had some of that veggie bake – I didn’t care for the lima/broad beans so I opened a can of white beans to top it…much better. Really yummy, in fact.

veggie-bake-white-beans-3-6-09

Later I snacked on some carrots before work.

Work was kind of lame and I didn’t make much money, but I got out early at least. And went to Target and bought a cute pair of shoes afterward, lol.

I heard a quote today that really spoke to me: “We must be willing to get rid of the life we had planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” (by Joseph Campbell)

Night!

Leave a Reply

