i don't like mondays

March 10, 2009 at 12:50 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Today was okay. But in general, yeah, I don’t like Mondays.

Didn’t blog last night because I was lame and didn’t take any food photos again! I went to lunch with at a place I’ve never been before that gets good reviews – and the food was really, really boring. Too boring to even talk about.

Then I went to my parents’ house for the whole afternoon as my brother and his wife and kids were in town. My dad made a delicious pork roast. It was a fun day.

Today I didn’t eat before class. Went to Target and Trader Joe’s after class, so I was pretty hungry by the time I got home. I bought a Soychorizo breakfast burrito at TJ’s – they’re in the deli/sandwich refrigerated section.

soychorizo-burrito-3-09-09

Here’s a shot of the nutritional info in case anyone is interested:

soychorizo-burrito-nut-info-3-09-09

As I was cutting the wrapper off, I accidentally sliced into the burrito with my kitchen shears, so you get a nice clean look into the contents after I heated it up in the microwave, lol.

soychorizo-burrito-plated-3-09-09

It was really quite good. Flavorful, but not spicy (I’m kind of wussy about spicy food). It would be easy to make on my own, too, which I will attempt soon.

I did something uncharacteristic of me after that and threw away the roasted veggies I had made the other night. They just weren’t good, and I didn’t feel like forcing myself to eat them. So I made up a new batch of roasted veggies: eggplant, mushrooms, yellow and green squash, orange bell pepper, and an onion. These came out good. 🙂

roasted-veggies-3-09-09

So, in the afternoon I heated up some of the frozen breaded eggplant slices from Trader Joe’s, topped them with roasted veggies, some pasta sauce, and a little lowfat mozzarella cheese.

eggplant-parmagiana-3-09-09

Realized after I made this that it was a lot of food! So I ate half before work and had the other half when I got home tonight. It was really good.

Tomorrow is normally my day off but I have to meet with my advisor in the morning and then I picked up a shift at work tomorrow night – I was being nice to my manager who needed it covered because he’s giving me Spring Break off with no complaints. I kind of just realized today that Spring Break starts at the end of this week! I have a lot to do this week before I leave. I’m driving on Sunday to Los Angeles to visit friends for a few days…and am determined to be good about taking food pictures while I’m there!

My foods might get kind of boring/weird, though, as this week goes on because I need to use up the stuff in my fridge that would go bad while I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

