i can't wake up every day and find the same me

March 31, 2009 at 8:38 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I woke up this morning early as usual…but then remembered it was my day off so I snuggled back into my amazingly comfortable bed for a while longer. Got up around 8.00 and had my last serving of ham hash (not forever! just from this batch! :P)…

hash-with-eggs2-3-4-091

Had a nice leisurely morning at home – doing some homework and house-cleaning followed by a nice long shower.

Went out to lunch at the great restaurant that we went to a few weeks ago, Jax Kitchen. I’m not a big bread person but their bread is really lovely. I’m also not big into that whole dipping-bread-in-olive-oil thing but, again, they serve a garlic-infused olive oil with their bread that is truly amazing. For lunch I had a really delicious salad that was basically a take on a shrimp caesar salad: large crisp pieces of romaine with grilled shrimp, thinly sliced red onions, and little pieces of bacon. It was so fresh and garlicky and the perfect portion size, not too big like a lot of places. They really do food right at that place, and as we know the owner, it makes me happy to see them apparently doing well.

I watched a documentary recently that I’ve had saved on DVR for months. It was very, very good. If you saw Schindler’s List, you should definitely look for this to be shown on PBS again or rent it (it’s on Netflix): Inheritance. Phenomenal.

I’ve been watching so many movies lately! It’s really unlike me. I’m enjoying it…I haven’t had much free time for the past few years and I don’t think I’ll have much time starting in the fall again, so I’m trying to relax and socialize and do non-school stuff for a while here.

I went to the grocery store after that and then came home and decided to make chilaquiles. I had chilaquiles for breakfast when I was in Los Angeles and was reminded how yummy they are, so I came home determined to make some of my own. Essentially, though, classic chilaquiles are made to use up stale tortillas and they are fried, then layered with sauce and cheese. Not too healthy and not much nutrition there. So I looked around online and found a recipe for slightly more healthy and nutritious chilaquiles. Made it tonight and oh, my. SO yummy!

Here’s how they looked out of the oven:

chilequiles-in-pan-3-31-09

I was planning to have lentil soup for dinner, but I couldn’t resist a little taste of these…put a little dab on a plate (it looks like a big piece but that’s a small plate, not the normal dinner plates I use)…

chilequiles-3-31-09

…omg so good! So I went back and got another piece and that was dinner. 😀

Here’s a link to the recipe of anyone wants to try it: Chilaquiles from Eating Well. I followed the recipe almost exactly (amazing!) but just used a little more cumin because I freakin’ love cumin. I think when I make it again I’ll probably add more veggies, like double the zucchini and maybe chopped mushrooms too. You’ll be seeing this for the next few days.

Probably staying home tonight – have kind of a full day tomorrow. Hope you had a good day!

1 Comment

  1. Alysia said,

    I enjoyed this post! Mmm, chilaquiles. Also, I’ve been enjoying your post titles as well. Very mysterious. Pink Floyd!

Leave a Reply

