i know where i belong

April 23, 2009 at 12:30 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

I have LOTS of photos to share today! 🙂 I don’t know what I did all weekend – worked, did schoolwork, hung out with J, the usual.

To be honest, I haven’t been eating very well for the past 2 weeks…as in, not enough. It hit me on Saturday night, when at the end of my shift I felt really, really light-headed and dizzy. I usually go out with work people on Saturday nights and it’s the most fun night out – so I was sitting with my head between my legs in the managers’ office thinking, “is this what you want? You want to not be able to go out with your friends because you’re obsessing over not eating more than XXX calories per day?” And I realized, NO, that’s not a life to which I want to return. Maybe I don’t like having a few extra vanity pounds on my tummy, but I’m in a healthy BMI range and ultimately have really enjoyed being healthy and able to do whatever I want the past few years with no issues of being too weak or to obsessive to socialize.

Yesterday I went to class in the morning, then went to this great local market where they sell tons of international foods that are hard to find in even the natural food stores here. Lots of yummy Asian food – which I’m not terribly good at making so it’s one area of cooking where I sometimes turn to pre-packaged food. I wanted to buy some different foods than my diet normally is composed of in order to get motivated on eating.

This is about the only frozen entree I’ve ever had that actually tastes as delicious as it looks on the package:

pork-noodle-bowl

Noodles in brown sauce with pork, edamame, and tofu. Freakin’ delicious.

Got some sweet-filled bean cakes for dessert:

bean-cakes

Also bought some nice little pantry staples for times when I don’t have time to cook.

5-grains-meal
curry-fried-rice-noodles
shirataki-noodles
whole-wheat-gnocchi

Good stuff!

Went to lunch with friends at one of the best restaurants in town – in my opinion (and the opinions of many people I know), Cafe Poca Cosa. It was super yummy and the service and ambiance were great.

I don’t remember what I did all afternoon – oh, yes I do! I was watching my favorite soap opera from the 1990’s which was sadly canceled in the late 90’s: Another World. Oh, the memories of my favorite characters and storylines…and the amazingly bad 90’s fashion. So fun.

Went out for happy hour with friends. I decided to wear my pleather leggings because everyone hates them haha, so there! Wore them with a cute silk shirt/dress thing that I got at Zara in L.A. over Spring Break…

outfit-4-21-09

…and these awesome shoes that I just got from Payless – zomg I love them so, so much!

payless-black-gladiators

They’re super cute, super tall, and super-comfortable. And they have adorable bright pink soles

payless-black-gladiators-pink-sole
Sometimes Payless really rocks. 😀

This morning I wore this to class:

outfit2-4-22-09
outfit-4-22-09
Skirt is old and thrifted, sweater vest is old and thrifted, shirt is last spring’s Old Navy, sandals are last spring’s WalMart. I wore it with a small collection of vintage lockets:

lockets-4-22-09

Came home and ate some of my favorite Southwestern crockpot beans & rice that I made a batch of this weekend:

crockpot-beans-rice

Did some schoolwork and then went out shopping for all kinds of fresh produce at Trader Joe’s – I’m really intent on getting back on track with my eating. Too much eating out lately, I’m sick of it. And too little overall food in the past few weeks. I want to feel good about everything I eat.

Had my favorite snack in the afternoon – I’ve posted this before:

crackers-cukes-laughing-cow
cracker-cuke-laughing-cow-plate
Laughing Cow light Garlic & Herb cheese wedge on All-Bran Garlic & Herb crackers, topped with cucumber slices and a shake of salt and pepper. Yum.

Work was fine – I feel sort of dizzy/stumbling when I run around at work lately. I think it must be a side effect of the sleep meds I’m on. It’s hard to balance everything.

I was going to make a portabello burger tonight but I don’t feel like expending the effort. I’ll make a big breakfast in the morning. Instead I’m watching an amazing documentary that I saw on tv a few years ago, that’s now available complete on YouTube: The Falling Man. It’s about September 11th, and it’s heartbreaking, but very good.

Thanks for reading. Please comment if you like/dislike/feel anything about this blog, lol…it’s always nice to know that someone is reading. Night. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Alysia said,

    I’m reading! Great pictures. I like those lockets AND the cucumber/Laughing Cow snacks. 🙂

  2. Engine Driver said,

    I love your leggings. You’re so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

