the waiting is the hardest part

July 2, 2009 at 1:02 am (Uncategorized)

I’m back! With a fancy new laptop that I love love love.

I also have – as I have mentioned previously – an adorable cat who I love love love…who is having some potentially troubling health issues all of a sudden. 😦 We’re (her vet and I) trying some things and running some tests and waiting to see what happens, hence the title of tonight’s post. She is happy and not in pain, but I’m sort of a stressball inside. She’s almost 18 years old and I know she won’t be around forever, but I’m not ready…is anyone ever ready? Anyway, we’ll see what happens. Send some good kitty vibes to my fuzzball.

Here she is today, the happiest and sweetest girl:

marcella 6-11-09

Okay, so what have I been up to? I was busy. And then I wasn’t so busy but my aging laptop went kaput. Then I ordered a new laptop from costco.com and it was going to take 10 days to arrive. Then my dad bought a brand new laptop off craigslist and told me to use it in the interim, and decide which one I liked more when the costco one arrived, and he’d keep whichever I didn’t choose. I liked the little one from CL…but then my new AWESOME SEXY one arrived from costco yesterday and I love it so much more. Which works out well, since I think my dad wanted the littler one anyway.

I have an awesome dad. Awesome parents, in fact.

Other than all that…have been working, reading all the books I never have time to read during the school year. Have also been terribly blowing off the house organization projects I need to do, as well as an ongoing research project. Must. Get. Motivated.

Saw Up in the theatre – it exceeded my expectations by FAR. If you have not seen it, for the love of whatever you find holy, GO SEE IT! Great film.

I have not been taking many photos of food – kinda in a weird place with food but it’s okay. A few things I’ve made recently – this recipe I found online called “Rhinelander lentil soup”. It looks kind of grey and unappetizing but it was pretty good: mirepoix, a roux, rendered bacon, lentils, potatoes. I doubt I’ll make it again, though.

rhinelander lentil soup

I also made a big batch of whole wheat couscous with oven roasted veggies – eggplant, red onion, zucchini – and kidney beans. Added some sausage and Trader Joe’s balsamic vinaigrette. Pretty yum.

couscous sausage

I had a sort of dinner party last week – just a few friends who brought a vat of sangria that was amazingly delicious. Im return, I made dinner. It wasn’t super gourmet or anything, but it was good. I tossed salad greens with halved red grapes, chopped walnuts, sliced red onion, gorgonzola crumbles, and a balsamic vinaigrette. Also served whole wheat gnocchi with basil & garlic jarred red sauce, sauteed with zucchini, yellow bell pepper, garlic, and chickpeas. I had fresh parmesan and homemade basil pesto for people to add to their gnocchi.

It went over well. 🙂

I have taken only two photos of outfits…man, once it gets hot here in the desert, fashion pretty much goes to hell and it’s all about not feeling like you’re living in a frying pan. Examples:

ootd 6-30-09

You know, I felt okay in this outfit, and my mom said I looked “frighteningly thin” (she worries because I used to be eating disordered) but this photo makes me think I should never wear it again. My thighs and ass look huge and they’re actually, like, not. Tight, tapered shorts I think are a big FAIL. Anyway, blouse and shorts are both from Old Navy last summer. Sandals also from last summer, Walmart.

This is similarly boring, but I think slightly more flattering (sorry it’s so dark, there were rainclouds overhead and my house has a ton of skylights = lighting is very affected by the weather outside):

ootd 7-1-09

Blouse from TJ Maxx last summer, same last summer Walmart sandals. Cargo shorts from a few years ago, boys’ section of Savers (thrift store).

I guess that’s about it. I have decided that John Cusack’s character (Martin Blank) in Grosse Pointe Blank is the epitome of my ideal man. Sorry, Dave Grohl.

Leave a Reply

