take me out tonight, take me anywhere, i don't care i don't care i don't care

July 5, 2009 at 6:00 pm (Uncategorized)

I want to go out tonight and everyone is busy/working. Wah. Maybe I’ll convince someone to go out with me after they get off work…it’s not usually a tough sell, lol.

Hope everyone had a happy and safe Fourth of July. I worked. But I had festive nails (forgive the sloppy paint job and crummy cuticles):

notd 7-4-09

Pretty low-tech (no cool patterns) but I didn’t have much time.

Kitty appears to be doing much better today! More energy, good appetite…back to the vet tomorrow and we’ll see what develops from there.

I made a delicious new soup recipe today – leeks, white beans, and couscous. I found the recipe online and it turned out so good! Great for summer.

A chef I worked with years ago taught me how to clean leeks, because they tend to have a lot dirt tucked inside their layers and it doesn’t wash off easily. So you slice them up and then dump them into a bowl of cold water. The leeks float to the top (leave them in there for at least 5 minutes)…

cleaning leeks

…and then scoop them out with a slotted spoon or mesh sieve (or even your clean hands). The dirt stays in the bowl like magic!

cleaning leeks 2

The soup came out absolutely delicious…slightly creamy from the beans but not heavy at all, and with just the perfect amount of cumin.

leek white bean soup 2

It’s really fast and easy, too. I’ll be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly except I was short one leek so I substituted a zucchini – I think I’ll always do that, it was nice. Oh, and I used Great Northern Beans because that was what i had.

Link to recipe.

INGREDIENTS
2 teaspoons olive oil
4 leeks, bulb only, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 (16 ounce) cans fat-free chicken broth
2 (16 ounce) cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
2 bay leaves
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 cup whole wheat couscous
2 cups packed fresh spinach
salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
Heat olive oil in a large saucepan or soup pot over medium heat. Add the leeks and garlic; saute until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in the chicken broth, cannellini beans, bay leaves and cumin. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low, and stir in the couscous. Cover, and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in spinach and season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

