i lost my head again

August 3, 2009 at 8:43 pm (Uncategorized)

Forgot to say in the last post that the first jacket I posted is a 1950s faux Persian lamb shrug/cape. I think it’s going to rock with jeans or leggings and a t-shirt. I need distressed boyfriend jeans – I’m going to try to find some at a thrift store and DIY the distressing.

The short ribs turned out really well. I browned them first on the stovetop, then they went into the slow cooker and I used the drippings to make a braising liquid with onion, garlic, shallot, beef broth, rosemary, savory, and marjoram. Put that in the slow cooker with carrots, celery, and mushrooms. While they were cooking I made mashed potatoes.

I forgot to take a picture of my plate (I had them for brunch this morning after getting home from an early appointment, lol) but I took one of the portion I took over to my dad for his lunch. My dad does the vast majority of the cooking (mom hates to cook) so I called him yesterday asking which supermarket has the best meat (as I rarely cook meat from raw) and when I told him what I was making, he said “what time shall I come over?” hehe. So I made him a plate and took it to him and took a picture of that – it’s not the best picture, all the meat had sunk to the bottom of the container. The white stuff is the potatoes, not fat.

8-3-09 short ribs2

Tried to stir it up a bit to show more of the meat…

8-3-09 short ribs

Well, pictures aren’t great but the short ribs are. I feel somewhat accomplished as I rarely cook meat and I basically just threw together ingredients that sounded good to me rather than following a recipe. I like it when that turns out well, and it generally does with me. I’m an intuitive cook. 🙂

So I did a little more online shopping last night after posting and can’t wait for everything to arrive. Also for it to be cool enough to wear any of it – like November, sadly. I won’t wear these pieces as punky (and awesomely) as the models but I like to pair one funky piece with more classic pieces for a little bit of edge.

This armor ring in the brighter chrome
armor ring2

These lacy tights
lace tights

These skeleton leggings
pink skeleton legging

This distressed/laddered sweater
laddered sweater
laddered sweater2

Fun stuff.

Thanks for reading. I corresponded with a really nice fashion blogger today – Lluvia of Playground and Imperfection and it was lovely. Came across Lluvia via one of my favorite fashion blogs, the divinitus. Both are very inspiring to me.

Ok, night.

Leave a Reply

