and now you do what they told ya

August 4, 2009 at 11:45 pm (Uncategorized)

Mellow day. Had some more of those yummy short ribs. It’s so hot that I’m completely unfashionable and am staying indoor planning for the fall…which does not arrive here until late October here, ugh.

I’m in this mood to experiment with some DIY fashion. Headed to the thrift store tomorrow to look for some good stuff with which to play that I won’t be heartbroken if I ruin. Some inspirations:

Want to find a blazer and put buttons on it similar to this (from Style Hurricane)
blazer buttons

Another studded jacket look that I like – this one because it’s not a blazer, almost looks like something soft and comfy (also from Style Hurricane)
studdedjacket

This fabulous necklace by Tom Binns (found this pic in a thread about DIY fashion at The Fashion Spot
tombinnsjewelry_theglossy

This cute ribbon/charm bracelet that Jade Jagger designed for Observer Women magazine – she designed it expressly for women to make for themselves, how cute of her. (From this great articlein The Guardian about DIY designer stuff)
Jade Jagger charm ribbon

I don’t know how to sew (although I want to learn) but I can handle all of these DIY projects. I used to always make jewelry from bits and pieces when I was in high school, and I look forward to doing it again. Speaking of which, the shoe jewelry at litter is UNbelievable. I posted a pic of one not long ago but didn’t credit it (I’m being better about crediting now). I want so much of it. At the same time, it’s way out of my budget, so I’m wondering if I can DIY a sorta simple one like this:
foot jewelry litter Sorry, litter, I love you for the inspiration but cannot afford you at this time.

Otherwise in life, things are good. Quieter, and I’m glad. I’m spending much less time with J as I was a while ago, and much less time socializing in general. It’s what I want. School begins in about a month and I’m getting back into work mode and out of the play mode of the past few months.

Thank you for reading, anyone who does.

3 Comments

  1. i don’t know when i got bitter « the world is bound with secret knots said,

    […] leather studded bracelets to make shoe jewelry ala litter sf like the ones I posted a picture of here. Stay […]

  2. Coco said,

    I Love that studded jacket – I’m going to do it right away!

    • theworldisboundwithsecretknots said,

      I checked out your blog – love it!

Leave a Reply

