all we are, we are

August 9, 2009 at 8:39 am (Uncategorized) (, )

Hit up a couple of thrift stores yesterday and found some good stuff. Sorry everything is quite creased in these pics because I accidentally left everything in the bags overnight – of course I’ll wash everything before I wear it but it looks wrinkled in these photos.

Cute (and soft) blousey brown t-shirt/tunic
010

Basic black silk shirt
black sil shirt

Soft black polo-collar sweater
black polo collar sweater

Grey shirt that I may have trouble styling so that it looks ironic and not like I’ve been wearing the same clothes since 1987 (much as I love the revival of 80s fashion, it’s easier pulled off by people who weren’t even born in the 80s than those of us who wore it all the first time around)
studded big shirt
It has studding on the pockets…
studded big shirt detail
..and on the collar…
studded big shirt detail2
We’ll see if I can pull that one off.

Boyfriend jeans, yay! So comfy and cute. I’m going to distress them so they have some holes and wear.
boyfriend jeans

I love this boat neck striped sweater
boat neck striped sweater

Cropped cargos
crop cargo

Cute nehru-collar vest that is made of cool and interesting fabric
nehru collar vest

Another pair of jeans – bootcut – with this cool little studding detail on the back pockets. I may do something more to these but not sure what yet.
studded jeans pocket

Also found this great cuff – instead of studs it has big rhinestones 🙂
sparkle leather cuff

Also found a pearl necklace and a rhinestone necklace that will contribute to my quest to create something like the layered/safety pinned necklace I keep posting here. So, yeah, overall I found good stuff! I love thrifting.

I had the last of my roasted beets in salad again for lunch with spinach, gorgonzola cheese, walnuts, and balsamic vinaigrette – like this one from the other day
beet salad

I guess it was a salad day because I had dinner before work and it was egg salad – it was super yum. I am posting here how I cooked the eggs so I don’t forget myself because they came out perfect – yolks not runny but slightly soft and not all crumbly…

I put them into cold water, brought the water to a boil and then took the pan off the heat, covered it and let it sit for 8 minutes. Then I tossed them into a bowl of ice water.

So they turned out great, and I mashed them with a bit of nonfat mayo, grainy mustard, and some of this artichoke tapenade/antipasto from Trader Joe’s…
TJ artichoke trapenade

I didn’t feel like dirtying a new dish so I pushed the egg salad to the side of the bowl in which I’d mixed the whole thing and dumped in some spinach which I dressed with a bit of no-calorie Walden Farms ranch dressing and a drizzle of flax oil
egg salad

It was freakin’ delicious. Honestly, making the eggs with slightly soft, bright yellow yolks added an amazing creaminess.

OH! And I’m excited because I found a seamstress on etsy who is going to make me a dupe of this Stella McCartney romper for a much more affordable price
stella mccartney romper
Image from http://heyyou-getoffofmycloud.blogspot.com (I don’t know why I can’t get this to post as a clickable link).

I love it. I’m having it made in dark grey, though, because I can’t keep white clean to save my life, and also because I can wear it practically year-round where I live – I can totally see it with tights and a jacket of some kind and boots…speaking of which, I bought these boots the other day on ebay

thigh high boots

I see that romper with those boots in the winter.

If I’m happy with this seamstress’ work after getting the romper, I have another project in mind for her…you’ll just have to wait and see what it is!

Night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

