slow down somebody gon’ crash

August 13, 2009 at 5:58 am (Uncategorized)

More random snacking instead of actual meals yesterday. Big bowl of cooked carrots, peas, and okra for breakfast, V-8 and cherries for lunch. As a late dinner I seared up some ahi tuna and threw it in a little wonton soup broth with random veggies.

Today I made a yum egg white omelet for breakfast – bell peppers, green chiles, bit of TJ’s lowfat cheese, some of Penzeys awesome southwestern seasoning, and topped with black beans and fresh (storebought) pico de gallo.

omelet

Yum.

Finished off my cherries, too. Later I had a V-8 and a tin of TJ’s smoked trout…was trying to get my cat to eat so I gave her the last of the trout but she said “no, thank you.” She’s being a fusspot about eating again. We went to the vet yesterday again and got some new anti-inflammatory to try to ease her arthritis. Doctor thinks that might get her eating better in a few days when it kicks in. I hope so.

In related news, I have a big crush on my cat’s veterinarian – he’s probably 20 years older than me and his wife died of brain cancer a year ago. But he’s so sweet to my girl and yesterday thought I was a nurse because I know so much about anatomy/physiology/osteology. How do you ask this person out?

You don’t, I suppose, especially if you’re me and never ask anyone out because your self-esteem can’t handle rejection. Plus it would be super embarrassing to see him after that.

Went back to the jewelry repair shop yesterday to pick up my chainmail gypsy bracelet that I had links taken from (I have fairly small wrists)…love it.

chainlink gypsy on me

It was made by Hecates Adornments on etsy.

Stopped at Ross on the way home because I’ve been looking for a new purse for 6 months and have been unable to find one that meets the following criteria: 1) Cheap. 2) Black. 3) Sort of funky but not over the top. 4) Front pocket to hold cell phone. 5) Not too big and not too small. 6) Silver hardware.

And I finally found one!

new handbag

Nothing amazing, but it’s what I wanted. For as much as I love shoes, I am not a bag person at all. I want something functional that looks decent and will last a year or so.

I forgot to take outfit pictures and was too lazy to get dressed again so I am showing what I was wearing on the floor, heh.

ootd 8-11-09 2

Black beater from some random cheap club clothes store at the mall, Paris-design beater from forever 21, thrifted short-sleeved pointelle sweater, black leggings from Target.

With these sandals from Payless (site is down or I’d link).

fringe sandals

Driving home from Ross, I started thinking about my kitty and burst into tears. The vet seems optimistic that she’s doing quite well and we can expect a few more years, and I told him that I know she’s old, I don’t want her to be uncomfortable, and that when the time comes I’m ready to make tough decisions. But I started thinking about it as I was driving and just how difficult that’s going to be. I think it was a release of all my worrying about her in the past couple of months, but I just sobbed all the way home.

Walked into the house and was greeted by this:

marcella DVD box

My sweetness hanging out in the lid of the box where I keep my DVDs which I had left on the floor, and looking at me like “why the crying, mom?” What a love.

And I know she’s had a good, long life. I know I gave her more love than any cat can ask for. I never expected when I took a kitten at 21 years old that she’d be with me for a huge amount of my adult life. I don’t feel guilty about anything. I’ll just miss her SO MUCH.

But that’s hopefully something to face in a few years.

Oh, and yeah that’s an AbFab DVD with her in the lid – WHAT. πŸ™‚

In the gorgeous-things-I-can’t-afford file for today, look at this Alexander McQueen clutch – LOOK at it!

mcqueen skull clutch

I posted the red because it shows better detail, but I would want it in this iridescent black color…

mcqueen black clutch
mcqueen black clutch2

From Saks…a bargain at $1600.

Other gorgeous things I love: These DIY jeans as posted on goodiebag

bleached jeans goodiebag

I want to figure out how to DIY this hairband from Zac Posen as posted on OutsaPop Trashion

zac posen studded hair

I totally have the faux hair braided hairband already, just need to figure out how to get the studs on there…and how to look that freakin’ gorgeous, lol.

I found a new blog today and honestly spent a few hours this afternoon reading through the entire thing…I have a new girl crush. This girl, while different from me in many ways, is so like me in other ways. I felt like I was reading my own thoughts at many times. She’s smokin’ hot, too, and seems so nice. I wanna hang with her.

I’m leaving in a few days for a 5-day trip that is decidedly NOT glamorous – going to a mining/rural town about 100 miles away for an on-hands field experience in rural health. It should be informative and hopefully interesting (and maybe even fun?). I’ll take pics of me in field gear if possible.

Thanks for reading.

3 Comments

  1. the structure is set ya never change it with a ballot pull « the world is bound with secret knots said,

    […] that Alexander McQueen clutch I posted a while ago here? Well, there’s a jewelry version – ahhhhh, why do gorgeous things like this have to be […]

  2. karuliine said,

    i found myself here enjoying the sun πŸ™‚ iΒ΄m the DIY-jeans girl. and you are welcome to use my photo here πŸ™‚

    • theworldisboundwithsecretknots said,

      Thank you! I love, love, love your blog and those jeans. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

