Lumigan/Latisse

August 29, 2009 at 1:37 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I’ve heard/seen a lot of questions lately both online and in real life about the lash growing product Latisse so I thought I’d make a little post about my experience with it. I started using Lumigan, which is the same thing as Latisse, about two months ago and am very, very pleased with the results.

In the interest of full disclosure, there are potential side effects to using Lumigan/Latisse on your eyes, which supposedly can include a darkening of the eyelid and darkening of eye color – irreversible. If you decide to use these products, please Google or ask your doctor about these side effects so you are informed.

I purchased Lumigan from an online Indian pharmacy called alldaychemist.com. I have purchased other products from them before and have had no complaints with the service or the quality. When I purchased Lumigan from them a few months ago, they did not require a prescription. Now they do, but oddly, they don’t require a prescription for Latisse, so I have switched to Latisse. The bottles they sell are approximately $10 each, whereas in the U.S. most doctor offices are charging about $90 for the same size bottle. They do charge a flat fee of $25 for shipping, so I tend to buy in bulk.

It comes in a small eyedrop bottle. You simply put a drop onto a fine eyeliner brush (mine is a paintbrush from a craft store) and draw it on your upper lids just like eyeliner. Once a day, I generally do it at bedtime. One drop is enough for both eyes, and each bottle has lasted me about 3-4 weeks.

My eyelashes before were not very long and blonde. Now they are probably doubled in length and mostly black (still blonde on the tips). I wish I had taken a before picture, but I didn’t. Here is a picture of them now.

(Disclaimer: this was taken after I tried the new Maybelline vibrating mascara for the first and last time – it sucked and my lashes look clumpy – it went back to CVS)

eyelashes

Updating: pic with no makeup

eyelashes brown no mascara

You can see in that pic how dark my lashes are now, and also that they are still blonde at the tips. They used to be that blonde root to tip.

I have naturally light blue eyes but wear brown contacts. My eyes have not changed color at all, and I have had no darkening of my eyelid. I’ve had no side effects whatsoever, other than longer, darker lashes. Here’s a pic of my eye with no contacts (naturally blue eyes) – I’ve always had the little brown flecks that appear in this pic, no change since using Lumigan/Latisse.

eyelashes blue no mascara

There it is! Feel free to comment if you have questions. 🙂

6 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    wow, looks like you got great results!!
    Is alldaychemist a reliable site? Kind of nervous purchasing from an international website selling so many things without any pharmacy licences.

    • theworldisboundwithsecretknots said,

      I’ve ordered from them about four times and never had any problems whatsoever. The products seem legit, just made in India. 🙂

  2. Heidi said,

    LADIES… I would take caution before using this product. in my opinion, the pros out weigh the cons. Side effects are dark circles, change in the color of your iris, red/itchy eyes, even hair in unwanted places!.. hmm, I would think that out weighs having more eyelashes. Not to mention, why go through the hassle of a prescription DRUG when I can purchase a safe product like Revitalash from my salon??

    • theworldisboundwithsecretknots said,

      You’re welcome to your opinion. I’m just putting my experience out there because people are interested, but I did also post all of the cautions that you have here.

      • Lizbeth said,

        hi amazing results you have gotten….. WOW….. I currently use Lilash and I can’t complaint it works great my lashes are definetly long but some all over the place.. not really any darker.though… it’s been about 6 -7 months and now I noticed I have massively started to shed out lashes,, I am freaked out… my long beautifull lashes just sheded away… has this happen to you with Lumigan. I’m thinking about trying this out, but wanted to hear from you . Thanks.

  3. theworldisboundwithsecretknots said,

    I have not had shedding and in fact they are thicker now than in these photos. I’ve only been using it since about July (I think?) so maybe that is in my future. I read on a forum that using it a few times a week instead of every day cuts down on shedding for people who are experiencing this.

Leave a Reply

